Beauty & Shopping, Spa Treats

Found: A Beauty Sanctuary In The Heart Of Town – Vanessa Tai

Feeling super frazzled and need a place to decompress for a couple of hours? Renaza Wellness Lifestyle Lab, located at the swanky Palais Renaissance, offers a quiet respite where you can enjoy pampering beauty treatments in peace. Vanessa Tai tries out the Classic Manicure and Gua Sha Eye Treatment. 

renaza_palais renaissance

Renaza Wellness at Palais Renaissance

I’m not kidding when I say I was seriously stressed out when I recently visited Renaza. My mind was on overdrive thinking of all sorts of problems, and I was feeling jittery and on edge. However, after I was seated in one of the plush chairs and served a cup of warm longan tea, I could feel myself begin to relax. The difference in Renaza’s service quality was immediately apparent when my therapist — upon noticing I was feeling cold — offered me an extra towel to cover my shoulders. Also, when she passed me the selection of nail colours to choose from, I was impressed. Instead of stacks of nail colour samples piled into a box (as is the norm in other nail salons), the nail colours were neatly arranged on a huge laminated board so you can see the entire selection in one glance.

Decisions, decisions!

Decisions, decisions!

To perk my spirits up, I decided to go for a hot neon pink shade, but wanted to mix it up with another colour. The therapist suggested tempering it with a glittery silver hue and I agreed. Once we agreed on the colours, I leaned back on my seat and closed my eyes. I don’t know if it was the therapist’s skilful hands or the calm silence in the salon, but I fell into a deep sleep almost immediately. I reckon it was a combination of both!

Here’s a look at my nails before and after the treatment:

Before

Before

After

After

After my Classic Manicure, I was ushered into Renaza’s Medical Aesthetics Spa UK, which is located right next door. I’ll be honest – when I first heard that I would be undergoing a Gua Sha Eye Treatment, I was initially very apprehensive. If you’ve been for a Gua Sha massage or seen friends who’ve gone for one, you’ll understand my apprehension. Gua Sha makes use of a smooth-edged instrument to scrape at the skin, which often leaves the skin looking red and bruised post-treatment. Hence, I was worried about how the skin around my eyes would look like. However, the therapist assured me that the eye treatment at Renaza is a much gentler form of Gua Sha and also makes use of a special essential oil as a form of lubrication. Repechage Essential Oil is derived from seaweed and contains a blend of minerals and antioxidants to help detoxify and hydrate your skin.

As an interesting aside, “Gua Sha” refers to an ancient healing technique used in Traditional Chinese Medicine and is often used to treat pain. That’s because in TCM tradition, pain is often associated with the stagnation of blood flow, so Gua Sha is used to break up stagnant blood flow and boost blood circulation in that particular area, thus relieving pain. At Renaza, this treatment is intended to help release any toxins from beneath your skin and stimulate blood circulation. Over repeated treatments, you can expect fine lines to be smoothed out, as well as a reduction in the appearance of dark circles, eye bags, and puffy eyes.

After my treatment, I was glad to see my worries were unfounded. Not only was there no redness, my eyes felt refreshed and appeared less tired. I left Renaza feeling rejuvenated and with a much lighter mind.

Birthday Deals For You!

As part of their 8th birthday celebration, Renaza will be rolling out a whole lot of great promotions over a period of two months. The Gua Sha Eye Massage will be going at $38 (U.P. $200) and the Classic Manicure at $18 (U.P. $27).

Other treatments such as the Customised Aesthetics Facial (U.P. $250) will be going at $38, while the Hair Wash & Blow (U.P. $23-$30) will be priced at just $8.

Other signature treatments include Renaza’s 8th anniversary promotions, from August – September 2014, are available at all outlets. (Click here for outlet locations.) For the full list of treatments, please refer to the image below.

8th-Anni-PosterA1

Take A Selfie, Win Awesome Prizes!

Wanna win an entire beauty package from Renaza? Simply follow the steps indicated in the image below.

Screen Shot 2014-08-21 at 3.23.10 pm

Renaza Wellness Lifestyle Lab worked with Material World for this post to review the Classic Manicure and Eye Gua Sha treatments. All opinions are the author’s own and have not been vetted by the client. Read our advertising policy here.

About The Author: Vanessa Tai is a founder of Material World who has previously worked on magazines Simply Her and Cosmopolitan Singapore. Now a freelance writer and a full-time contributor to this website, the 27-year-old dreams of attending every single major music festival before she turns 30. Follow her on Twitter @VannTaiTweets.

Standard