Beauty & Shopping, Makeup

3 Secrets To Beautiful Eyes, 1 Place To Get Them – Deborah Tan

Are you obsessed about the way your brows and lashes look? If you’re anything like Deborah Tan, these 3 offerings from Browhaus may just be what you need.

Growing up, I was always told that my eyes were beautiful. Since crossing the 3-0 mark, I have noticed that my eyes are not as “young looking” as they used to be. I may be paranoid here but I’ve noticed that if I left the house without drawing my brows and lining my eyes, and I happened to have a picture taken, I would look damn tired in the photo.

It goes without saying that on any average day, the 2 makeup steps that I HAVE to do are: (1) draw my brows and (2) line my eyes. Even on days when I don’t feel like wearing sunscreen (yes, it happens to the best of us, okay?), I have to do my eyes.

What about mascara? Well, unfortunately, I do not have a relationship with mascaras. My lashes are stick-straight and are pretty resistant to curling. Wearing mascara is also uncomfortable since I tend to tear whenever I yawn. Waterproof mascaras stay on for nearly all day except they make my lashes look a bit stiff. Smudge-proof mascaras, however, are a no-go because they don’t stand a chance against my oily eyelids.

So, what does it mean to have eyes that don’t quite betray your real age? For me, besides being free of lines, eyebags and dark circles, lush eyebrows, luxuriant lashes and dark lash lines are also a must.

For the last 3, it seems Browhaus of the Spa Esprit Group may just be able to help …

Browhaus at One Raffles Place, #04-01

Browhaus at One Raffles Place, #04-01

Mission 1: Get eyebrows tweezed and shaped
If I don’t draw my eyebrows, I’ll look like I have none. No kidding! My eyebrows are a bit of a mess – thick and unruly at the inner half, sparse at the outer. I checked out Browhaus’ new joint at One Raffles Place. I tried the Thread+Tweeze treatment where, as its name already suggests, a combination of threading and tweezing is used to shape my brows. The session was over in less than 15 minutes and I was immensely glad to see that the therapist had given me a pair natural-looking brows that were neither too dark nor too arched.

Nice, neat, shapely brows ... even after 2 weeks!

Nice, neat, shapely brows … even after 2 weeks!

Verdict: It’s been two weeks since my Thread+Tweeze session and my eyebrows remain in good shape. Of course they still need to be drawn (if you want to put an end to that, you can try Browhaus’ Brow Resurrection treatment) but there is hardly any stray hair under or above the main body. The therapist had done a very thorough job and, honestly, I’m now tempted to “outsource” the work of maintaining my eyebrows to her.

 

Screen shot 2014-08-06 at PM 05.18.15

Mission 2: Plump up my lashes
Browhaus HD Mascara is part of Browhaus’ first-ever range of eye makeup and it promises to lengthen and hold the curl of your lashes for up to 24 hours. If you are looking for a mascara that will dramatically transform your eyes with some serious va-va-voom effects, this isn’t it. This mascara basically helps your lashes look more lush. The formula goes on smoothly (there is really no clumps!) and it really feels weightless.

No va-va-voom effect but I love that my lashes look soft and lush.

No va-va-voom effect but I love that my lashes look soft and lush.

Verdict: I like that this mascara is super-comfortable to wear. It is waterproof as well so no worries about walking in the drizzle. The brush effectively separates the lashes too so you don’t end up with spidery strands.

 

eyeliner-open

Mission 3: Darken the lash line
At $17.90, this liquid felt-tip eyeliner is definitely going to be my new go-to eyeliner. The Precision Eyeliner delivers intense, dark lines and, using it to create wing tips is such a breeze. The formula doesn’t crust up so you won’t get black flakes falling into your eyes in the middle of the day. I may be a bit biased now but this wins Best New-To-Market Liquid Eyeliner in my books.

Now all Browhaus needs is an eyebrow kit to complete the set!

Now all Browhaus needs is an eyebrow kit to complete the set!

Verdict: Previously, I could never use an eyeliner and mascara together (unless a professional makeup artist helps me out). The tip of this eyeliner finds its way in-between lashes so easily, lining your eyes after mascara is absolutely do-able. I prefer to line my eyes after mascara cos my eyeliner always comes off onto the lash curler’s rubber bit.

Browhaus’ newest branch is located One Raffles Place, #04-01. The Browhaus HD Mascara and Precision Eyeliner both retail at $17.90 at all Browhaus outlets. For a full listing, click here. This post is neither paid for nor advised by Browhaus. All opinions are the author’s own.

About The Author: Deborah Tan is a founder of Material World. After 10 years of working in magazines Cleo and Cosmopolitan Singapore, she is now a freelance writer/editor who works on this website full-time. She wants to know what it means to age gracefully and would like to invite you to take this survey here. Follow her on Twitter @DebTanTweets.

 

 

Standard