Beauty & Shopping, Branded Content, Hair, Skincare, Spa Treats

[Material World x Renaza Wellness Lifestyle Lab] Chemical Peel For Dry Skin, Found – Tan Lili

Want to achieve smoother, younger-looking skin but aren’t a fan of chemical peels? A relatively new non-invasive exfoliating procedure known as Aqua Peel Facial might just be the ideal treatment for you. Read Tan Lili’s review to find out more.

In case you haven’t had enough of my whinging, allow me to yet again express my utter dismay at my drier-than-average skin. In my line of work, it’s pretty often that I get a chance to have my skin analysed. And each time, the skincare therapist would reaffirm my greatest beauty woe – that my skin is dehydrated.

My recent visit to Renaza’s Medical Aesthetics Spa at Palais Renaissance was no exception. Before deciding on the type of Customised Aesthetics Facial I’d be getting, the therapist gave my skin a thorough cleanse so she could get a better look at it and design a treatment for me.

“Hmmm … your skin is dry and it looks very dull.” Yep, she sure isn’t one to mince her words. “You shall try our new Aqua Peel Facial!”

My response was a rather violent upward jerk.

You see, I did a chemical peel before, and it took my skin one full week to stop shedding. But my patient therapist assured me the 90-minute Aqua Peel Facial is no chemical peel. In fact, it was probably created for apprehensive people with dry skin like me.

So, What Is The Aqua Peel Facial?

How my makeup-free skin looked the morning after.

How my makeup-free skin looked the morning after.

The Aqua Peel Facial is a relatively new non-invasive exfoliating procedure that works like a chemical peel, minus the discomfort as well as dry and flaky appearance after. My therapist likens it to an advanced diamond peel, which also employs microdermabrasion. But what makes this facial especially great for those with dehydrated skin is that it comes with the infusion of saline. The microdermabrasion step and infusion work hand in hand to safely and painlessly exfoliate the skin while hydrating it.

Somewhat appeased, I left my fragile skin to the hands of my therapist.

The microdermabrasion was, as promised, pain-free, and the saline infusion had a reinvigorating effect on my skin. The quick strokes of my therapist also worked to relax me further, making the procedure refreshingly comfortable – something you’d never experience with a chemical peel.

Next up is the extraction, followed by a soothing 20-minute mask. The Aqua Peel Facial includes a neck-and-shoulder massage as well.

After the facial, my skin looked a little raw (it’s a peel, after all) but otherwise noticeably brighter and more radiant. To my great relief, unlike my previous bad chemical-peel experience, my skin did not flake at all the next day. Consider me sold!

Great hair in less than an hour!

Great hair in less than an hour!

For An Amazing Head Massage

The Aqua Peel Facial wasn’t the only treat I received from Renaza that day. Before the facial, I had a Hair Wash & Blow at Renaza’s Telok Ayer Street outlet.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but the part I look forward to the most during a blowout session is the hair wash, and Renaza sure doesn’t disappoint. For a good 10 minutes, I was treated to quite possibly the best head massage I’ve ever experienced, thanks to my stylist’s skillful fingerwork.

Birthday Deals For You!

As part of their 8th birthday celebration, Renaza will be rolling out a whole lot of great promotions over a period of two months. The Customised Aesthetics Facial (U.P. $250) will be going at $38, while the Hair Wash & Blow (U.P. $23-$30) will be priced at just $8.

Other signature treatments include Gua Sha Eye Massage at $38 (U.P. $200), and Beautiful Lips Treatment + Anti-Aging Pearl at $88 (U.P. $158).

Renaza’s 8th anniversary promotions, from August – September 2014, are available at all outlets. (Click here for outlet locations.) For the full list of treatments, please refer to the image below.

8th-Anni-PosterA1

Renaza Wellness Lifestyle Lab worked with Material World for this post to review the Aqua Peel Facial and Hair Wash & Blow treatments. All opinions are the author’s own and have not been vetted by the client. Read our advertising policy here.

About The Author: A founder of Material World, Tan Lili has previously worked in magazines The Singapore Women’s Weekly and Cosmopolitan Singapore, as well as herworld.com (now herworldplus.com, the online counterpart of Her World). She is now a freelance writer who works on this website full-time. Lili hopes to travel the world, work with wild animals, and discover more awesome Twilight fan-fiction. Follow her on Twitter @TanLiliTweets.

Standard