Beauty & Shopping, Skincare

This Skincare Product From Shiseido Is Iffy – Deborah Tan

Great research and powerful ingredients in the new Shiseido Vital-Perfection range can’t seem to change Deborah Tan’s mind about this particular skincare product. What gives?

Shiseido Vital Perfection range

Shiseido Vital Perfection range

Shiseido’s latest skincare range Vital-Perfection addresses two concerns every woman has about “growing older” – lines, sagging skin, dullness, and a “yellowing” complexion. The range contains a revolutionary ingredient complex called VP8 to shut off the pathways leading to the root cause of multiple aging and discoloration.

The range aims to
1. Lift the skin
2. Smooth out wrinkles
3. Keep fine lines from forming
4. Erase age spots
5. Fight dullness
6. Improve softness of skin
7. Improve the texture of skin
8. Keep skin well hydrated

The regime is fairly easy to follow – it consists of a cleansing foam, a softener and an emulsion. Those who desire a richer texture can opt to use to the enriched version of the softener and emulsion. Results can be seen in just one week.

I tested the range and discovered that, while I like the cleansing foam and the emulsion, the one product I had to stop using after a day was the softener.

What happened?
This could be a matter of personal preference. Although the function of a softener is to help prep your skin to absorb your serum, essence and moisturizer better, I have always found that it impedes the absorption rather than improve it. Whenever I try out a Shiseido skincare range, I find I have a much better experience, and result, when I exclude the softener.

For Vital-Perfection, I tried to, once again, follow the regime as instructed. The cleanser was excellent – a soft cushiony lather forms easily and cleanses the skin thoroughly without over-drying it. The emulsion has a watery texture and quenched my tired and dehydrated skin adequately.

When I did include the softener, I found, to my dismay, that it formed a wet, impenetrable layer on my skin. Add the emulsion on top of this layer and I ended up with a product-slick on my face that took too long to be absorbed. Even after I pat the excess off with a piece of a tissue, I found my skin looked shiny and felt sticky.

After a day of “sticky” skin, I decided that, once again, a Shiseido softener was not for me. I proceeded with my review with only the cleanser and emulsion.

The result
Most skincare products require anytime between 28 days and 2 months for results to be evident. After my week with Vital-Perfection (six days without the softener), I am happy to note that …

1. My skin is smoother – especially at the forehead
2. Less “yellow”
3. Skin texture on the cheeks is more refined
4. More lifted and firmer around the jaw area

Before (left) and After (right). Photos have not been digitally touched up or Photoshopped in anyway. Pictures are also taken without makeup.

Before (left) and After (right). Photos have not been digitally touched up or Photoshopped in anyway. Pictures were also taken without makeup.

Verdict
I would recommend Vital-Perfection for women who are beginning to worry about becoming “yellow-face housewives” (huang lian po). Vital-Perfection addresses the 3 root causes that lead to aging signs on the face:

1. Carbonylation – main cause of dermal proteins yellowing
2. Glycation – main cause behind the breakdown of collage
3. Oxidation – main cause of skin damage and inflammation

It provides an all-rounded, comprehensive approach to keeping your complexion and skin youthful-looking.

To see if the softener does indeed work for you, I recommend you go to a Shiseido counter and try the emulsion with and without the softener to see which option makes you more comfortable.

Shiseido Vital-Perfection is retailing at all Shiseido counters islandwide. The Vital-Perfection range was given to Material World at the press event. This review was neither paid for nor advised by Shiseido. You may read our advertising policy here.

About The Author: Deborah Tan is a founder of Material World. After 10 years of working in magazines Cleo and Cosmopolitan Singapore, she is now a freelance writer/editor who works on this website full-time. She is currently on the hunt for a good non-sticky neck cream that she can use during the day. Follow her on Twitter @DebTanTweets.

Standard