Love In Lines, Relationships

[Love In Lines] How To Know If You’re Falling In Love – Vanessa Tai

Call it infatuation, lust, puppy love, or whatever you want. According to Vanessa Tai, the first few flutterings of love is possibly one of the best feelings of the human experience.

material world_falling in love

Although I often say I’ve never been in love, I have to confess that’s not entirely true. I do know what it’s like to start falling for somebody, but for a myriad of reasons, I always end up putting a stopper on my feelings. Now that I’m older (and hopefully wiser), I want to stop holding myself back and finally give in to the giddy exhilaration of falling in love.

Disclaimer: This list is particular only to me, but I believe you may find some common traits!

1. You behave differently around him

At work and with friends, the side of me people usually interact with is the straight-talking, strong and independent business owner. But when I’m with a guy I’m falling in love with, a forgotten side of me seems to make more regular appearances. I listen more than I talk, and for some reason, my voice and mannerisms become softer. It’s most peculiar.

2. You get off your high horse

When I am not in love, my mind tends to be more pragmatic. I would express derision toward people who make (what I deem to be) poor decisions because of love. For example, I had a friend who gave up a prestigious overseas scholarship because she didn’t want to be away from her boyfriend. Non-in love me thought it was a waste and a bad decision, career-wise. However, in-love me will be more likely to understand how difficult it is to be apart from someone you love so deeply.

3. You feel safe with the other person

When you first start dating someone new, you’re both feeling each other out and trying to establish a connection. Both of you are slowly letting down your guards and inviting the other person into your inner thoughts. It’s scary, but also invigorating.

Sadly, it doesn’t always pan out. Sometimes he may discover something about you that causes him to back off (and vice versa).

But you know you’re falling in love when you feel safe enough to reveal your deepest insecurities … and he replies with utmost sincerity, “You are perfect as you are.”

4. Everything suddenly seems extra romantic

Like many women, I’ve always had a soft spot for romantic comedies. But when I’m falling in love, EVERY LITTLE THING seems romantic. Random love song on radio? Speaks directly to me! Random news story about couples who’ve been married for years? True love exists afterall! Random thing that reminds me of the guy I’m falling in love with? It’s a sign that we’re meant to be! And so on. It’s nauseating … but also very normal.

5. You write lists like these.

Need I say more?

Love In Lines is a special under the Relationship section of Material World. The four founders each takes a week in a month to talk about dealing with love from different perspectives. Founder Vanessa Tai talks about navigating the often-confusing world of singledom. Stay tuned for more!

About The Author: Vanessa Tai is a founder of Material World who has previously worked on magazines Simply Her and Cosmopolitan Singapore. Now a freelance writer and a full-time contributor to this website, the 27-year-old dreams of attending every single major music festival before she turns 30. Follow her on Twitter @VannTaiTweets.

[If You Like This Post, You Might Also Like]

1. [Love In Lines] Being Vulnerable In Love
2. [Love In Lines] The Fear Of Getting Hurt
3. [Love In Lines] To Thine Own Self Be True

Standard