Beauty & Shopping, Fragrances

Beauty Review: Elizabeth Arden UNTOLD Eau Légère – Vanessa Tai

You’ve seen the videos of the two Singaporean women and their inspiring life stories. Now, discover Vanessa Tai’s experience with the UNTOLD Eau Légère fragrance.

The first thing that struck me when I first laid eyes on the UNTOLD Eau Légère fragrance was how the shape of the bottle resembles that of a woman striking a sexy pose. Check out the picture below to see what I mean.

mw_elizabeth arden

See? It’s as if one shoulder is being pushed forward alluringly, like how a model would on a catwalk.

Aesthetics aside though, what was my first impression of the fragrance? As someone whose fragrance choices tend to be pretty safe and predictable — I usually favour clean, fuss-free scents — I was initially not used to its deep muskiness. However, as the day wore on and the scent sank into my skin, I started to get used to and even enjoy the headiness of the UNTOLD Eau Légère. It’s a decidedly womanly fragrance, with sensuous notes of Amber, Patchouli Heart, and Egyptian Jasmine.

I’m not sure if I was imagining it, but each time I spritzed on the fragrance on subsequent days, I did feel a small but significant boost of confidence. Then again, perhaps it wasn’t just my imagination. According to an article published in Psychology Today, scents can have a positive effect on one’s mood and self-confidence. The article goes on to say that a smell has no personal significance until we connect it to something that has meaning. With that first encounter, we begin forming nerve connections that link this particular smell with emotions. This is because our capacities for both smell and emotion are located in the same network of brain structures. Interesting huh?

With the UNTOLD Eau Légère, I felt almost as if I was shedding my identity as “Vanessa the girl” and stepping into a newfound identity as “Vanessa the woman”. Maybe that’s why the fragrance was such a hit with men!

Wait, what?

UntoldEauLegere_100ml_bottle

UNTOLD Eau Légère, $117 for 100ml

So I recently went out with this guy and just before our date, I spritzed on a good amount of the UNTOLD Eau Légère. I wasn’t sure if he would be able to smell it in the crowded bar that we were in, so at an appropriate interval in our conversation, I put my wrist up to his nose and asked him what he thought. He looked impressed, “It’s good. Very good!” I guess he must have meant it, because the date extended from “just drinks” to a long night of playing pool and enjoying live music … and a second date soon after.

Of course, I’m not saying that the UNTOLD Eau Légère is a magic concoction that will reel in members of the opposite sex. But the sensuality and sophistication of the fragrance played a big part in boosting my confidence levels. I’m sure you know that when you feel more confident, you start to talk and act the part too – you stand up taller and you speak with more assuredness. It certainly worked for me!

Elizabeth Arden UNTOLD Eau Légère, $117 for 100ml, is available at authorised Elizabeth Arden counters islandwide. Elizabeth Arden UNTOLD Eau Légère was given to Material World for review purposes. All opinions are author’s own. This post was neither paid for nor advised by Elizabeth Arden.

Score an exclusive sample of UNTOLD Eau Légère! Simply be among the first 150 readers to visit Elizabeth Arden counter at Robinsons Raffles City from NOW and quote “Material World” to earn your sample fragrance vial.

About The Author: Vanessa Tai is a founder of Material World who has previously worked on magazines Simply Her and Cosmopolitan Singapore. Now a freelance writer and a full-time contributor to this website, the 27-year-old dreams of attending every single major music festival before she turns 30. Follow her on Twitter @VannTaiTweets.

Standard