Beauty & Shopping, Skincare

5 Reasons This Is 2014’s Best Moisturiser for Oily Skin – Deborah Tan

In the beauty race to be this year’s best products, Deborah Tan has found her winner for “Best Moisturiser for Oily Skin” in Kiehl’s new and improved Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream.

We are not halfway into June and, here I am, casting my vote for “2014’s Best Moisturiser for Oily Skin”. To be honest, when Kiehl’s launched the Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream a couple of years ago, I was ambivalent, to say the least. While it wasn’t as rich as the classic Ultra Facial Cream, it didn’t exactly have the best texture where oil-free, super hydrating moisturisers were concerned.

And my vote for Best Moisturiser for Oily Skin goes to ...

And my vote for Best Moisturiser for Oily Skin goes to …

But this year, the Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream has been given a face-lift (hurhur …). The texture is lighter, more watery, and most importantly, it is absorbed very easily by the skin. Still doesn’t explain why this is THE BEST moisturiser for oily skin? Be patient. Read on.

1. Say “Goodbye” To Schizo Skin
My skin acts up whenever I have to fly. How is it possible for skin to be flaky and oily at the same time?!? I tried the new Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream on a recent flight to Japan and was pleased to find it helped kept my skin smooth, soft and shine-free throughout.

2. Preps Skin Nicely For Makeup
The key to a natural-looking base makeup? Moisturiser. And you need just the right type and amount. Too rich and your makeup won’t stay on for long, too dry and you end up with a cakey finish. This moisturiser preps the skin so it’s supple enough for your foundation.

3. Keeps Skin Matte For A Very Long Time 
The principle behind why we need to hydrate our skin is because thirsty skin produces more oil as a way of compensating for the dryness. Most hydrating moisturisers I’ve tried have never successfully kept my skin shine-free for more than a couple of hours. With Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream, I found my face stayed matte and fresh through an entire day of going in and out of air-conditioned offices and into the open.

Photos have not been digitally touched up or altered in any way.

Pictures taken on the same day at times stated. Photos have not been digitally touched up or altered in any way.

4. A Relief On Super Hot Days
Do you find your skin crying out for cool relief on afternoons when the mercury hits 35 and above? I certainly do. I keep a jar of this moisturiser on my office desk so I can freshen up after coming in from the sun. The moisturiser sinks into the skin so easily, all you need to do is pat any perspiration off and dab this soothing balm onto your skin. Ahhhh …. sweet relief!

5. Feels Great On Necks
My neck area is prone to oiliness, especially in the more humid months. However, I’m well past the age bracket where I can afford to neglect the area. This moisturiser is powerful enough for the neck area if you want something that hydrates without leaving a sticky film behind.

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream, $48 for 50ml, at all Kiehl's stores islandwide

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream, $48 for 50ml, at all Kiehl’s stores islandwide

I started using Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free on May 7. It’s been a month and I have noticed these improvements to my skin:
1. It stays calm even if I go from cool, dry air-conditioning into the hot and humid outdoors 
2. It flushes less easily
3. It doesn’t get shiny or oily in the afternoon
4. Makeup goes on more easily and stays on longer

Verdict:
Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream keeps my skin hydrated no matter where I am. Mid-day oil slicks have become a thing of the past and I love how my complexion is so much calmer now. I strongly recommend this moisturiser for anyone who wants to keep their skins well-hydrated whatever the climate or temperature.

Get your sample via a 5-minute consultation here.

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream was given to Material World for review purposes. All opinions are the author’s own. This post was neither paid for nor advised by Kiehl’s.

 

[Want more awesome beauty products? How about …
1. Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream
2. Biotherm Life Plankton Essence
3. Yves Rocher White Botanical

 

Standard