Gadgets & Toys, Lifestyle

5 Faces You’ll Inevitably Have When Driving This Car – Deborah Tan

If Deborah Tan could get away with grand theft auto, the new Volkswagen Golf R would be the FIRST car she’d steal. Every cell in her body is dying to possess this beauty. Read on to find out why.

The new object of my desire.

The new object of my desire.

Read my car reviews often enough and you’ll know I love the Volkswagen Golf … in all its many variations. Recently I was invited to test-drive the new Golf R. I mean, I could talk about how it’s so incredibly powerful and responsive, how the interior lights up in gorgeous blue, how the eye-catching Lapiz Blue metallic paint finish is exclusive only to the Golf R, and why the four-wheel drive makes it such a wonderful thing to drive.

But I had noticed something else in the 3 days that I had the car. It’s the indescribable feeling of awesomeness and pride I feel every time I get behind the wheel.

I think a typical wordy review will not do the Golf R any justice. So I’m going to attempt to show you why this is the car you should just ask to test-drive even if you have no intention of buying a set of wheels at the moment (I know … the COE is just ridonkulous … but test-drives are free, right?).

1. When I Turned On The Ignition …
The car went …

I went …

 

2. When I Wanted To Overtake Another Car That Was Road-Hogging The Right Lane …
The car went …

I went …

 

3. When I Stopped At My Security Guardhouse To Get A Temporary Carpark Pass
The uncle went …

I pretended …

 

4. When I Drove The Car In Race Mode
My friends went …

And I felt this …

 

5. All in all, driving in the Volkswagen new Golf R …
… is a bit like this …

The new Volkswagen Golf R is now available for test-drive at Volkswagen Alexandra and Volkswagen Macpherson. Material World was lent the car for test-drive purposes, all opinions are the author’s own. This post was neither paid for nor advised by Volkswagen Singapore.

About The Author: Deborah Tan is a founder of Material World. After 10 years of working in magazines Cleo and Cosmopolitan Singapore, she is now a freelance writer/editor who works on this website full-time. She likes liquid eyeliners, bright red lipsticks, tattoos, rock & roll, Mad Men, and Suits. Follow her on Twitter @DebTanTweets.

 

Standard