Beauty & Shopping, Skincare

Beauty Review: Yves Rocher White Botanical – Vanessa Tai

Looking to brighten a dull complexion? It may be more effective to use a complete beauty routine than just one dedicated product. 

If you’re a regular follower of Material World’s beauty columns, you’ll know that my main skincare concerns are a dull, uneven complexion and pigmentation spots. However, my modus operandi has always been to try random products – a brightening mask today, a dark-spot corrector tomorrow – instead of an entire beauty regime. However, after trying out the Yves Rocher White Botanical range for about a month, I’ve since learned the folly of my ways.

material world_yves rocher exceptional youth emulsion

Yves Rocher White Botanical Exceptional Youth Emulsion SPF30 PA+++, $55

The entire Yves Rocher White Botanical range comes with seven skincare products, but for this review, I tried the following: Exceptional Youth Emulsion SPF30 PA+++, Exceptional Youth Essence, Exceptional Youth Cream – Night, and Exceptional Youth Dark Spot Corrector.

For someone who has a super basic skincare regime to begin with (I usually just slap on moisturiser after washing my face), it was initially a bit confusing deciding which product to apply first.

After consulting with resident beauty guru Deborah, I learned that the way to “layer” your skincare products is to start with the one with the most lightweight texture. This is to maximise the penetration of the products into your skin. (Think about it: if you start with a rich and creamy moisturiser, your serums or essences won’t be able to penetrate the skin underneath it.) If both products have a similar consistency, take a look at the ingredient list. The one with a higher concentration of active ingredients should go on first.

The two main ingredients in the White Botanical range come from plant extracts – White Licorice powder and White Lupin extract. Licorice has always been known for its anti-inflammatory properties, but it’s also effective for brightening skin and reducing the appearance of dark spots. White Lupin is reputed to have anti-ageing properties as it helps boost the production of collagen in your skin.

Here’s how I applied the products:

material world_yves rocher

My thoughts:

 

Yves Rocher White Botanical Exceptional Youth Essence, $60

Yves Rocher White Botanical Exceptional Youth Essence, $60

The textures of both the Youth Emulsion and the Youth Essence are not exceptionally thick; in fact, both products were absorbed easily into my skin. However, the results on my complexion was immediately apparent. My skin looked fresher and brighter, and had a dewy afterglow. In fact, in the month that I was trying out these products, I hardly applied any foundation because my skin looked bright and clear on its own!

Yves Rocher White Botanical Exceptional Youth Dark Spot Corrector, $37

Yves Rocher White Botanical Exceptional Youth Dark Spot Corrector, $37

For the Dark Spot Corrector, the results took a little longer to be seen, which is understandable. I religiously applied the gel-like product on my freckles day and night, especially when we were in relentlessly sunny Penang. After about three weeks, I noticed that some of the smaller spots have faded and on the whole, my freckles don’t appear as stark as before. For the night cream, I applied a generous amount on my face, neck, and décolletage each evening. In the mornings, my skin would appear fresh and radiant, instead of tired or sallow.

Yves Rocher White Botanical Exceptional Youth Cream - Night, $60

Yves Rocher White Botanical Exceptional Youth Cream – Night, $60

Need pictorial evidence?

Here are pictures of my skin taken before I tried the White Botanical range, and one month after using the products:

Images have not been Photoshopped or digitally altered in any way.

Images have not been Photoshopped or digitally altered in any way.

I apologise that we weren’t able to re-create the exact same lighting conditions for the Before and After shots but trust me when I said I had zero foundation on in the second image. The only products on my face were the ones I stated in the “Day” column above. Amazing, right?

Having seen the efficacy of a dedicated beauty regime, I’m now sold. A multiple-step skincare routine may take a bit more effort, but the results more than make up for it.

Yves Rocher is located at Westgate #02-16, Takashimaya #B2-03, and BHG Bugis Level 1 Cosmetic Floor.

Yves Rocher worked with Material World for this post to review its White Botanical range. All opinions are the author’s own and have not been vetted by the client. Read our advertising policy here.

About The Author: Vanessa Tai is a founder of Material World who has previously worked on magazines Simply Her and Cosmopolitan Singapore. Now a freelance writer and a full-time contributor to this website, the 26-year-old dreams of attending every single major music festival before she turns 30. 

 

Standard