Beauty & Shopping, Branded Content, Hair

[Material World x Panasonic] Beautiful Blowouts, Every Day – Vanessa Tai

This Mother’s Day, let Mummy Dearest enjoy a sleek blowout every day, with this hair dryer from Panasonic.

Scores of people have commented that my mother and I look alike, so I guess it must be true. Apart from our facial features though, my mum and I share one other similar trait – our hair. Both of us have incredibly thick hair, which may sound like a blessing, but it can get coarse and unruly without proper maintenance. Whenever we’re too busy to visit a salon, our hair has been likened to everything from “a lion’s mane” to “a landmark” (because you can spot our poofy hair from afar).

In an ideal world, my mum and I would visit the salon every other day to get a professional blowout, but of course that would be impractical. The next best thing? Panasonic Nanocare Hair Dryer EH-NA45. This innovative new hair dryer doesn’t just dry your hair – it emits nanoe ions to deliver moisture to your strands, and platinum ions to curb damage from UV rays.

Panasonic Nanocare Hair Dryer EH-NA45, $169

Panasonic Nanocare Hair Dryer EH-NA45, $169

But first, what is the difference between ionic hair dryers and regular hair dryers? Here’s the thing: when your hair is dry and frizzy, it’s charged with positive ions. An ionic dryer emits negatively charged ions that break down water molecules so that they’re able to penetrate your hair shaft and hydrate your hair from the inside out. Panasonic takes this one step further with its nanoe technology – the nanoe ions’ moisture content is approximately 1,000 times greater than that of negative ions – delivering moisture deep into your hair shaft. Platinum ions work by coating your hair surface and tightening the cuticle, which creates a glossier and sleeker appearance.

Also, unlike other ionic hair dryers, Panasonic separates the outlet for negative ions and nanoe particles from the outlet for hot air. That’s because nanoe and negative ions tend to lose some of their moisture to the hot air, so this helps to maximise the hydrating effect.

My thoughts:

The first thing I noticed about this hair dryer is how the air isn’t as hot as other hair dryers I’ve used. Instead of jets of hot air, this produces a more steady stream of warm air. However, it still dries my hair as quickly as my regular hair dryer. Also, because I know my scalp is regularly being assaulted by UV rays and other environmental stresses, I took comfort in the fact that each time I dried my hair, the nanoe technology was working to keep my scalp hydrated and healthy.

What really impressed me, however, was how easily my hair fell into place after one blowout. Typically, I would still need to brush out my hair and apply a variety of hair serums to create that smooth, frizz-free look. However, with this hair dryer, I just needed to run my fingers through my hair after using the dryer and it created this (almost) professional blowout look. Check out the pictures below (taken on two separate occasions):

material world_panasonic

Pictures have not been Photoshopped or digitally altered in any way.

While I’ve been using this hair dryer as part of this review, I’m tempted to buy one for my mum just so I can use it for myself. If you’re still racking your brains as to what to get your mum for Mother’s Day, look no further!

Panasonic Nanocare Hair Dryer EH-NA45 is available for $169 at Best Denki, selected Courts and Harvey Norman outlets, Isetan Scotts, OG, Takashimaya DS., Tangs Orchard and other authorised Panasonic dealers. 

Panasonic worked with Material World for this post to review its Nanocare Hair Dryer EH-NA45. All opinions are the author’s own and have not been vetted by the client. Read our advertising policy here.

About The Author: Vanessa Tai is a founder of Material World who has previously worked on magazines Simply Her and Cosmopolitan Singapore. Now a freelance writer and a full-time contributor to this website, the 26-year-old dreams of attending every single major music festival before she turns 30. 

Standard