Beauty & Shopping, International Fashion

Le Pilage Cuir Personalized by Longchamp – Deborah Tan

Longchamp celebrates the 20th anniversary of its iconic Le Pilage bag this year and, as a treat for its die-hard fans, the brand is marking it by allowing you to personalize your own Le Pilage Cuir. Deborah Tan gets her own Le Pilage Cuir in this story.

Admittedly, I’m not a fan of Longchamp’s Le Pilage nylon bags. But when I was introduced to the Le Pilage Cuir, my heart warmed just a tad bit towards the world-famous foldable bag. And when Denise returned from her holiday in Belgium with a brand new Longchamp Planetes (a bag inspired by the Le Pilage), I was officially flirting with the idea of putting money down for a Longchamp tote.

The Le Pilage Cuir – although made of leather – is foldable, just like its nylon sister. Made from a specially crafted leather that is soft, supple, yet strong, the Le Pilage Cuir retains the bag’s iconic foldability without cracking.

You can fold the Le Pilage Cuir just like how you would with the Le Pilage nylon.

You can fold the Le Pilage Cuir just like how you would with the Le Pilage nylon.

This invitation to personalize my own Le Pilage Cuir couldn’t have come at a better time. For this, I made my way to the Longchamp boutique at Paragon.

First, you choose the size. Although the personalization service is available for a clutch, to truly get a bag that’s uniquely yours, I recommend you go with a proper Le Pilage bag. I’m looking for a bag that I can use as a work-bag when I travel so, it’s gotta fit my laptop, charger, phone, notebook, Kindle and a multitude of stationery and chargers. The Medium, which measures 32cm by 28cm by 17cm, is a bit too small. I decided to go BIG (40cm by 31cm by 18cm)!

This is the Le Pilage Cuir in Big.

This is the Le Pilage Cuir in Big.

Next, it’s to the shop’s iPad to personalize my bag. You get up to 8 colors to choose from for every part of the bag (with the exception of the lining) – how’s that for choice! Every part of the bag can be personalized – body, handle and flap, shoulder strap, tabs, and the inner lining. You even can put your initials on the bag to mark it as yours.

For an idea of how crazy you can go, here’s one where every part has been given a different color:

You can pick a color for every component of the bag.

You can pick a color for every component of the bag.

 

Some thoughts that crossed my mind as I was personalizing my Le Pilage Cuir included …

1. “STOP CHOOSING BLACK! If you wanted a black bag, just get a black bag.”

Screen shot 2014-04-17 at PM 01.59.22

2. “Hmmm … this looks like an ACJC bag …”

Red, blue and yellow - AC colors!

Red, blue and yellow – AC colors!

3. “Okay, now I’m just going crazy! Will I ever carry an orange bag?!?!”

4. “THINK OUT OF THE BAG BOX, DEBS!”

In the end, I came up with 3 combinations I really liked. As much as I wanted to create a bag that reeks of my individuality and creativity, I decided it still has to be a bag that I would want to carry every day and one that wouldn’t look too out of place with my wardrobe of black dresses. Can you guess which one I went for in the end?

Which one did I pick?

Which one did I pick?

Once you’ve decided on your design, an order is sent through to France. Your bag will take about 6 weeks to make. Before I end, here’s what Vanessa said she would put on her bag (I decided to make a sombre looking one for some contrast):

What Vanessa's bag might say ... haha!

What Vanessa’s bag might say … haha!

The Le Pilage Cuir Personalized is exclusively available at Longchamp’s Paragon boutique. Deborah was invited to experience the service for review purposes. All opinions are her own. The post was neither paid for nor advised by Longchamp.

 

About The Author: Deborah Tan is a founder of Material World. After 10 years of working in magazines Cleo and Cosmopolitan Singapore, she is now a freelance writer/editor who works on this website full-time. She likes liquid eyeliners, bright red lipsticks, tattoos, rock & roll, Mad Men, and Suits. She hopes her bag will be ready by the time she heads to Japan for a work trip! Follow her on Twitter @DebTanTweets.

[If you like this story, you’ll love]

1. 7 Ways To Rock Pantone’s Color Of The Year

2. How To Care For Leather

3. I Bought A Designer Bag And …

Standard