Beauty & Shopping, Skincare

Beauty Review: Biotherm Liquid White Spot Focus – Deborah Tan

Biotherm’s White D-tox range gets a new update in the form of Liquid White. Deborah Tan tries Liquid White Spot Focus Ever-Clear Dark Spot Corrector for 2 weeks to see if it delivers on its promises.

Although not obvious, there is a line of spots and acne scar pits running from my temples to just below my cheekbones. The region is also slightly darker than the rest of my face. It looks like a U. This is fine – it gives the impression of a slightly sculpted face. But I’ve wondered if it would be possible to even out the skin tone there.

Biotherm’s new Liquid White Spot Focus Ever-Clear Dark Spot Corrector claims to address the “butterfly mask” some of us have in the form of freckles and pigmentation. I decided to use it to see if it would lighten my “U” shaped pigmented area.

biothermliquidwhitespotfocusserum

For 2 weeks, I applied a spot of the serum, post-cleansing, along the stretch on the left side of my face. My right was testing another product. Every day, twice a day, I would apply this serum before my moisturizer.

The serum has a water-like texture and is easily absorbed by the skin. After two weeks, my result below:

Before (left) and After (right). Pictures taken without makeup and under the same lighting. Photos have not been airbrushed or digitally altered in any way.

Before (left) and After (right). Pictures taken without makeup and under the same lighting. Photos have not been airbrushed or digitally altered in any way.

The area has lightened significantly, and my skin texture has also become much finer. The pores and the pits are also not as deep as they used to be.

Besides Biotherm’s iconic Pure Thermal Plankton, Liquid White Spot Focus also combines Red Algae (that helps fight dullness and limiting melanin’s flow up to skin’s surface) and White Lotus Extract (that helps fight oxidative damages, dehydration and pigmentation) to help “depollute” the skin of toxins that mar its radiance and translucency. In 4 weeks, users can expect a brighter complexion, and in 8 weeks, fewer and smaller dark spots.

Verdict:
While there are no lack of choices when it comes to spot correcting serums, I think this new offering by Biotherm is one of the gentlest and most hydrating I’ve tried. My test period was during the time when Singapore was suffering a mini drought of sorts and my skin often felt scorched and parched at the end of the day. The serum was a joy to use, its watery texture felt like a real treat for the skin.

If you have been trying to lighten your acne scars with little success, I think you can give this a shot. In fact, you can go online here and request for a free sample. Like I always say, try before you buy.

Biotherm Liquid White Spot Focus Ever-Clear Dark Spot Corrector was given to Material World for review purposes. The opinions are the author’s own. This review was not paid for nor advised by Biotherm. You may read our advertising policy here.

 

Got 5 Minutes?
Healthsurvey_256

 

About The Author: Deborah Tan is a founder of Material World. After 10 years of working in magazines Cleo and Cosmopolitan Singapore, she is now a freelance writer/editor who works on this website full-time. She likes liquid eyeliners, bright red lipsticks, tattoos, rock & roll, Mad Men, and Suits. The beauty addict admits to applying up to 2 serums every morning and every night. Follow her on Twitter @DebTanTweets.

[If you like this story, you’ll love]

1. Whitening Versus Brightening: Same or Different?
2. Beauty Review: Kiehl’s Dermatologist Solutions Clearly Corrective White Hydrating & Clarifying Masque
3. [Material World x Elizabeth Arden] Farewell, Freckles!

 

Standard