Beauty & Shopping, Skincare

Beauty Review: Etude House Every Month Cleansing Foam – Vanessa Tai

Korean skincare giant Etude House has outdone themselves once again, with the recent launch of 12 different facial cleansers, each to target a specific skin concern. 

You might be thinking, “Why on earth does one skincare brand need to create so many different cleansers?” Well, Etude House has identified 12 main skin concerns – from acne to loss of elasticity – and developed 12 different facial cleansers to target these problems.

I guess that makes sense, given how each of us have our own unique skin concerns. Even among the four of us at Material World, each of us have very different skin needs as well. For this review, each of us picked a cleanser that best matched our skin types, and tried it out for two weeks.

Deborah – Soothing Relief (Aloe Vera)

Every Month Cleansing Foam #7 ALOE VERA (1)

Skin Type: Sensitive, acne-prone

Review: “The mild fruity scent is pleasant and the gel-like texture of the cleanser emulates that of aloe vera gel. Although the cleanser foams up easily, the lather is soft like a powder puff and doesn’t leave my skin feeling too tight or dry.”

Denise – Purifying (Lemon & Garlic)

Every Month Cleansing Foam #4 LEMON & GARLIC (1)

Skin Type: Clogged, and often exposed to UV rays

Review: “When this cleanser first landed on my desk, I was intrigued as it had ‘lemon and garlic’ written on it. Sounds like something you rub on fish as a marinade if you ask me! Thankfully, it smelled more like lemon than garlic. The fresh citrus-y scent made this pleasant to use, but honestly, I was a tad disappointed at its supposed “purifying” properties. After using it for over two weeks, I didn’t really notice a reduction in blackheads and my skin remains as oily as ever. As an everyday cleanser, it does a decent job of removing debris and grime, but I’d advise you to temper your expectations where its skincare properties are concerned.”

Lili – Deep Moisturising (Avocado & Butter)

Every Month Cleansing Foam #1_AVOCADO & BUTTER (1)

Skin Type: Dry, dehydrated

Review: “This cleanser is thicker than my usual facial cleansers, and I was impressed by its smooth, creamy texture. Just a tiny amount was needed for a good lather. For a cleanser this affordable, it does a decent job in cleansing my skin, especially any stubborn traces of makeup. Perhaps it’s too soon to tell, but I’ve yet to notice a visible difference in terms of my skin’s hydration levels.”

Vanessa – Combination (Apple & Tomato)

Every Month Cleansing Foam #3 APPLE & TOMATO (1)

Skin Type: Dull, discoloured

Review: “As my skin tends to be on the dry side, I appreciated how the moist pearl cream texture of the cleanser didn’t leave my skin with any tightness, unlike other cleansers I’ve tried. It also had a subtle scent of apples, which I liked. If you’re looking for a deep cleanser or one that is brimming with brightening ingredients, this probably won’t be your first choice. However, I’ll recommend stashing this in your gym bag for a quick and refreshing post-workout cleanse.”

This post is in no way paid for or advised by Etude House. The writers were given the Etude House Every Month Cleansing Foam cleansers for review purposes. You may read our advertising policy here. Etude House Every Month Cleansing Foam is available for $6 at the following Etude House outlets.

About The Author: Vanessa Tai is a founder of Material World who has previously worked on magazines Simply Her and Cosmopolitan Singapore. Now a freelance writer and a full-time contributor to this website, the 26-year-old dreams of attending every single major music festival before she turns 30. Follow her on Twitter @VannTaiTweets.

[If You Like This Post, You Might Also Like]

1. Beauty Review: Biotherm Body Sculpter
2. Beauty Review: The Body Shop Moisture White 2-In-1 Brightening Eye Cream
3. [Material World x Elizabeth Arden] Farewell, Freckles!

Standard