Beauty & Shopping, Skincare

Beauty Review: Biotherm Body Sculpter – Vanessa Tai

As much as we know the only way to lose weight is through a sensible diet and exercise, we also secretly wish we could speed up the process with slimming products. But do these products work?

As an empowered woman of the 21st century, I wholly embrace body love and all that jazz. However there are days where I do grapple with body insecurities. After all, as Denise argued in her article on body image, it’s okay if we don’t love our bodies ALL THE TIME. It’s far more important that we view these negative thoughts with a rational eye, and evaluate why is it we’re feeling this way. For me, I tend to feel blobby and unattractive whenever I haven’t exercised for a while. After about three or four days of zero physical activity, my energy levels take a major dip and I would feel fat in whatever outfit I pick out. It’s not a good place to be in, trust me.

This is why I’ve recently made a commitment to run at least three times a week, for 30 minutes each time. This is on top of hour-long boot camp sessions once a week. However, I still find it hard to rein in my diet. My biggest weakness? Beer. After a long day of work, nothing hits the spot quite like a cold, frothy mug of beer, and let’s face it, I rarely ever stop at one. While it’s been proven that beer belly is NOT a result of beer, it’s still an undeniable fact that beer contains plenty of calories, and excessive drinking can lead to you putting on weight.

This is why, as much as I try keep active, my soft spot for beer has led to other “soft spots” on my body, namely my belly. It looks and feels like a stress ball – round and squishy – and is truly a source of stress in my life. When Deborah passed me the Biotherm Body Sculpter to try, I was sceptical but hopeful.

Biotherm Body Sculpter, $65

Biotherm Body Sculpter, $65

The claim:

Biotherm Body Sculpter is formulated with 5 percent pure caffeine to simultaneously achieve two slimming results – reducing the appearance of extra curves, and firming up your skin. As you may know, caffeine has a dehydrating effect so it pulls fluid from your skin, reducing the appearance of cellulite. Caffeine is also able to stimulate lipolysis, the process of the breakdown of stored fat and lipids by a chemical reaction with water. According to in-vitro tests performed by Biotherm researchers, the Body Sculpter is able to boost the fat burning process by up to 87 percent.

My thoughts: 

I faithfully used the Body Sculpter on my belly and back of thighs every evening for two weeks. The lightweight emulsion gel is not as sticky as other body contouring creams that I’ve tried, and it leaves your skin feeling cool and tingly to the touch. The best way I can describe it is, it’s similar to that coolness you feel on your skin after being swabbed with an alcohol swab.

I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been drinking more beer than usual, but I didn’t notice any visible reduction of tummy fat. I measured myself before and after the two weeks, and I’m still the same size! However, I did notice that my skin tone appeared firmer and not as flabby. Another thing I noticed is how the cellulite on the back of my thighs seemed to have dissipated. Previously, I used to notice my skin dimpling whenever I squeezed the fat on the back of my thighs, but that “orange-peel” effect has now lessened considerably.

Of course, at the end of the day, nothing beats the bulge better than good ol’fashioned exercise and diet (for me, that means no more chugging down beer every other day!). But if you’ll like to complement your weight loss regime, a body contouring product like Biotherm Body Sculpter – which comes chockfull of caffeine – is a good bet.

This post is in no way paid for or advised by Biotherm. The writer was given a tube of the Biotherm Body Sculpter for review purposes. You may read our advertising policy here. Biotherm Body Sculpter is available for $65 at the following Biotherm outlets

About The Author: Vanessa Tai is a founder of Material World who has previously worked on magazines Simply Her and Cosmopolitan Singapore. Now a freelance writer and a full-time contributor to this website, the 26-year-old dreams of attending every single major music festival before she turns 30. Follow her on Twitter @VannTaiTweets.

[If You Like This Post, You Might Also Like]

1. Beauty Review: The Body Shop Moisture White 2-In-1 Brightening Eye Cream
2. [Material World x Elizabeth Arden] Farewell, Freckles!
3. Beauty Review: Kiehl’s Dermatologist Solutions Clearly Corrective White Hydrating & Clarifying Masque

Standard