Beauty & Shopping, Branded Content, Skincare

[Material World x Elizabeth Arden] Farewell, Freckles! – Vanessa Tai

Living in sunny Singapore brings with it a host of sun-related damage, such as pigmentation spots and skin discolouration. Wanting to take her sun protection regime up a notch, Vanessa tried out Elizabeth Arden’s new Visible Whitening range. Here’s her review.  

While many people have complimented me on my freckles (and I, too, secretly like them), I am concerned about these tiny brown spots becoming darker and more pronounced. Or worse, merging to form larger “continents”. Freckles are formed when UV rays from the sun hit your skin, causing the outermost layer of your skin (the epidermis) to thicken. This in turn causes melanocytes – also known as the pigment-producing cells in your skin – to produce even more melanin, which darkens existing freckles.  

Despite knowing all this, I must confess, I’m not the most hardworking when it comes to my sun protection regime. I dutifully apply sunscreen every morning, but I rarely touch up during the day, and I only use brightening masks once a month. However, this recent heat wave has got me worrying about the appearance of new dark spots. I decided simply applying sunscreen alone won’t cut it; I needed to step up my game.

Enter Elizabeth Arden’s Visible Whitening Intense Brightening Biocellulose Mask and Visible Whitening Anti-Melanin Spot Corrector.

The mask is densely packed with ingredients such as Vitamin B3 to even out skin tone and Licorice extracts to prevent the formation of dark spots, but it’s not drenched to the point where it drips with product when you open it. I’ve always preferred bio-cellulose masks because they adhere to your skin so much better. This ultra-fine mesh textile fits onto my facial contours like a second skin. In fact, I could be lying on my belly reading and it wouldn’t even move an inch, let alone slide off!

See how well it adheres to my skin!

See how well it adheres to my skin!

As for the Anti-Melanin Spot Corrector, it’s a lightweight gel-like product that’s formulated with intensive skin brighteners such as Vitamin C derivatives and an exfoliating agent. This reduces the appearance of existing melanin spots on your skin’s outer most layers, and stems the production of new melanin.

Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Anti-Melanin Spot Corrector, $110

Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Anti-Melanin Spot Corrector, $110

I used the mask every other day for a week, and applied the spot corrector on my freckles every morning after applying a liberal amount of sunscreen. See the results below:

Before-After

Yes, I know you can still see my freckles, but the spots are definitely visibly lighter. My skin also appears fairer and more radiant. Another thing I really liked about the mask is how it has a hydrating effect on top of its brightening properties. My skin felt softer, smoother and “cooler” after each application, and the after-glow effect spilled over to the next day as well.

Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Intense Brightening Biocellulose Mask, $90

Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Intense Brightening Biocellulose Mask, $90

While freckles may be a hereditary trait and are mostly harmless, that doesn’t mean you can’t control them from spreading. I’m very pleased that just one week of being a little more hardworking beauty-wise has reaped such visible results. I’m definitely not going to slack off my skincare regime anymore!

Elizabeth Arden worked with Material World for this post to promote the launch of its new Visible Whitening Intense Brightening Biocellulose Mask and Visible Whitening Anti-Melanin Spot Corrector. All opinions are the author’s own and have not been vetted by the client. Read our advertising policy here.

About The Author: Vanessa Tai is a founder of Material World who has previously worked on magazines Simply Her and Cosmopolitan Singapore. Now a freelance writer and a full-time contributor to this website, the 26-year-old dreams of attending every single major music festival before she turns 30. 

Standard