Beauty & Shopping, Hair

Beauty Review: Dove Hair Therapy Intense Repair – Deborah Tan

One of the things I hate doing the most is washing my hair. No one believes me when I tell them this. All they see is someone with freshly blown tresses day in day out. But you know what? Getting my hair to look the way it does is a chore. The shampooing and the blow-drying take forever to complete (in all, I spend 45 minutes!), and let’s not even talk about the number of precious strands I lose every day.

It’s not that I don’t know why.

1. My hair takes forever to get washed because …

… it is tangled. It may look like it is keeping its shape and bounces really well but what I’ve got is a head of hair that tangles mid-length, no thanks to heat damage. If you run your fingers through my hair, you’ll see it gets “trapped” halfway down. Every shampoo session is tedious because it is close to impossible getting the strands to separate.

2. Blow-drying is a necessary evil

Don’t blow-dry my hair? Well, then be prepared for a long, arduous wait. Without blow-drying, my hair takes close to two hours to dry. I’m not exaggerating. And after it dries, it’s even frizzier than if I had put it through the hair-dryer. It takes 15 – 25 minutes to blow-dry my hair because damaged hair holds on to water. Healthy hair is hydrophobic (waterproof) and therefore takes less time to dry. Damaged hair not only stays wet for longer, it breaks more easily because the hair shaft swells a lot more when it comes into contact with water.

So when I was introduced to Dove Hair Therapy’s new Intense Repair range of hair products, I was more than ready to give them a try.

Dove Hair Therapy Intense Repair range

Dove Hair Therapy Intense Repair range

The Science:
Briefly put, this entire range repairs your hair on the cellular level. This is because hair suffers not just physical damage but also internal damage. The former is caused by things like exposure to heat and physical stress like combing, the latter is caused by things like lipid loss and fluctuating pH levels. Intense Repair has a patented Keratin Repair Actives to replenish the lost lipids and stabilise the protein structure to prevent further damage.

There are a total of 6 products in the Intense Repair range. My favourites are:

#3: Intense Repair Treatment Mask, $10.90

Dove-Intense-Repair-Treatment-Mask

I know it’s awkward standing inside the shower while waiting the five minutes for a hair mask to work its magic. But if you have the habit of blow-drying your hair or colouring your hair, a hair mask is habit you need to get started on asap. Used once a week, a mask provides your hair with a more intense bout of benefits and hydration your conditioner cannot. Dove Hair Therapy Intense Repair Treatment Mask left my hair a lot softer and smoother, without being too greasy or heavy. It rinses off extremely well and quickly – a bonus for impatient people like me.

#2: Intense Repair Conditioner, $7.70 for 350ml 

Dove-Intense-Repair-Conditioner

In the conditioners of this new range is a new technology called Microsheets. Conditioning ingredients are deposited along the hair shaft in “sheet-like” shapes rather than circular particles. This ensures a more even coating of the conditioner and makes rinsing less abrasive. I’ve tried this for two weeks now and I can tell you the amount of hair on my bathroom drain trap has more than halved. I’m losing less hair during my daily wash. Pretty amazing when you can see that a hair monster is no longer growing on your drain trap.

#1: Intense Repair All Day Repair Cream, $7.05  

Dove-Intense-Repair-All-Day-Cream

My absolute favourite! After my first time trying this, I was irrevocably hooked! After towelling my hair, I would squeeze a 20-cent dollop of this cream, flipped my head towards the ground so my hair tumbles down in front of my face, and gently spread this cream on every strand. Applying the cream like this prevents you from putting it on your scalp. Unlike most creams/serums I’ve tried, this one significantly reduces the amount of time I spend blow-drying my hair. TRUE STORY. It takes me less time to blow-dry my hair and it keeps its shape and bounce throughout the day without tangling up. It also contains a UV blocker – great for those who’s out and about in the sun.

Overall, I’m in love with this range of hair products – great scent, great texture, and most importantly, great results. I actually don’t dread washing my hair so much these days. If you don’t want to splurge on an entire range at once, I recommend you try the conditioner first.

This new range from Dove Hair Therapy is available at all leading supermarkets and pharmacies.

The Dove Hair Therapy Intense Repair range was given to Material World at the media launch. All opinions are the author’s own. You may read our advertising policy here.

About The Author: Deborah Tan is a founder of Material World. After 10 years of working in magazines Cleo and Cosmopolitan Singapore, she is now a freelance writer/editor who works on this website full-time. She likes liquid eyeliners, bright red lipsticks, tattoos, rock & roll, Mad Men, Suits, and hates it when people try to pluck out her grey hair. You’ve been warned. Follow her on Twitter @DebTanTweets.

Standard

One thought on “Beauty Review: Dove Hair Therapy Intense Repair – Deborah Tan

  1. road2beauty says:

    Very nice review. Appreciate your opinion.Have used this range in the past with good results. Their conditioners beat even some of the high-end brands. I am currently using Dove oil care range. Its amazing.

    Like

Comments are closed.