Infographics, Self-Improvement, Skills & Workshops

[Infographic] Writing Mistakes You Don’t Know You’re Making – Deborah Tan

As an editor, I guess it’s become an “occupational hazard” to pick apart every single email I receive. The wrong use of the word “revert” drives me crazy. I’m also always trying to explain to my writers how commas work and the difference between “that” and “which”.

Take the time to refine and improve your writing. You may Whatsapp or text in “shorthand” (if we can even call “c u ltr” that), but in a professional environment, do make it a point to write well and write properly.

Anyway, I thought I’d do an infographic today explaining some of the writing faux pas everyone (including myself, sometimes) makes. Enjoy!

Infographic by Deborah Tan of Material World Singapore

 

About The Author: Deborah Tan is a founder of Material World. After 10 years of working in magazines Cleo and Cosmopolitan Singapore, she is now a freelance writer/editor who works on this website full-time. She likes liquid eyeliners, bright red lipsticks, tattoos, rock & roll, Mad Men, Suits, and recalls her stint as an English tuition teacher with much fear and horror. Follow her on Twitter @DebTanTweets.

Standard